Writing 101 day 3…..three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?

Writing 101 day 3…..three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?

I am going to be honest here. The topic today proves to be a real challenge for me.

I enjoy music, I love music, I will admit many hours have been spent lip synching to my favourite hits in front of my mirror hair brush in hand. I wished to be a famous pop star as a child. I wished to be gifted with a melodious voice. I wish I had learnt to play the guitar.

Today I listen to a variety of music right from Indian regional music and Indian classical music to Taylor Swift to Kenny Rogers to Lady Antebellum to Michael Buble to Beyoncé to Ed Sheeran to Eminem to One Direction. It really depends on what frame of mind I am in at that point of time. Music to pep you up, music to workout with, music to commute with, music to heal your wounds, music to soothe your nerves, music to express your love, music to give you courage, music to fill the void, music that goes perfectly with a chilled glass of wine.

So having said this, to have me pin point three songs that I think are most significant in my life for me is like asking a parent which child is your favourite.  All the same for purposes of this challenge I would like to narrow it down from the labyrinth list of internationally known music (as in I am not even going to open the Pandora’s box of Indian music some of which are outstanding in their lyrics composition and are just timeless gems in my opinion).

Here goes in no particular order of importance ….

Number 1

Dadant dadant dada dada dadanntt ……..geddit?

The PINK PANTHER theme song ofcourse. You just went back and re-read the dadants in tune didn’t you?

The first tune that almost immediately came to my mind when starting off with this challenge was the Pink Panther theme song.  The iconic tune that once hummed stays in your subconscious for the rest of the day. Anything you do after hearing this tune, is done in beat with the dadants. This tune I love naturally as do the rest of the world not just for its memorable beat but also because it brings back many memories with it. As a family we loved to watch together old Peter Sellers Pink Panther movies. We laughed and revelled in his ridiculous antics and this tune never fails to remind me of those evenings.

Number 2

The second song I would like to cherry-pick would be a Rascal Flatts song…My Wish .
(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6eCYb0X9iqM)

Each time I hear this song the lyrics never fail to stir me. They appeal strongly to my emotional brain. As a mother the words in this particular song  “My wish for you is that this life becomes all that you want it to”, “Your dreams stay big your worries stay small”, “You never need to carry more than you can hold”, I couldn’t have said it better even if I wished to. Amen to that prayer.

And then this is when this particular challenge got more….well challenging for me. So many songs rushed through my mind, how about some of my favourite peppy up tempo numbers like ‘dancing on the ceiling’ or ‘hips don’t lie’ or ‘billy jean’ (now that’s seriously iconic). Or perhaps other favourites of mine like ‘you needed me’ or ‘say something’.  As I pondered over these many many choices sitting with my laptop in bed I turned and looked down at the sleeping form of my partner.  This is when I suddenly recollected an old favourite of mine.

A song which I so loved when I first heard it. Every word in the song I felt had special meaning and the more often I heard it the more I felt these were words from my heart straight to his.

(On his part poor man he cringed with embarrassment when I quoted to him some of the lyrics from this song, not being the lyrical flowers and proses kind! :-0 )

Number 3

It’s your love – Tim McGraw and Faith Hill
(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vQQMJ2u6fGE)

“Better than I am, more than I was and all of this happened by taking your hand”, “And if you wonder about the spell I’m under its your love”. Nothing more need be said after these words.

So on that note I shall end floating away in my little musical bubble. Writing this has brought back many musical memories for me and I feel a compelling urge to revamp my ipod playlist right away.

9 thoughts on “Writing 101 day 3…..three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?

  1. It is the lyrics that sneak up and catch you by surprise, taking your breath away, and making you think “Yes!! Exactly that!!” that get me every time. As if the person who wrote them knew you personally!!

  2. Wow Kavi, each article is getting better written than the earlier one. Dadant just caught me, now the whole day I am going to be marching like Pink Panther !

Leave a Reply

