Writing 101…day 4….a loss that haunts me…..a loss that I seek to reclaim

Writing 101…day 4….a loss that haunts me…..a loss that I seek to reclaim…. Part 1

“I seek you here I seek you there…..I seek you everywhere”

You were mine once upon a time. Then I foolishly lost you. If I could I would do it all differently. I would have treasured you more. I would have cherished you more. I would have showcased you at every given opportunity.

I had you, in all your glory. You shone brightly, you were luminous, you were lustrous, you were radiant. You were strong when I needed it, a pillar so to speak of support for my entire being.

I was the cynosure of all eyes with you on my side. Riding high on the coat tails of your glory I laughed and never understood when others envied my easy relationship with you. The fact that I had you naturally, that I never had to work at keeping you faithful to me.

I lost you gradually. Over the years, sadly I took you for granted. When I should have valued your existence in my life, watered the plant of our relationship, instead of letting it dry out.

At the time I never considered your loss. How difficult it would be to get you back. The tears I would shed in my quest to retrieve you, the steep uphill slope that the road back to you would be.

I have only just embarked on this road in my quest to you. I lost the way and needed help to find the way back to you. Now that I have been guided and pointed in the right direction, I follow the proverbial yellow brick road.

Each night as I lay my head down I pray that I never lose my way and ask for strength that I may stay true to my quest to recapture you.

2 thoughts on “Writing 101…day 4….a loss that haunts me…..a loss that I seek to reclaim

Leave a Reply

