Writing 101, Day Six: A Character-Building Experience

 Writing 101, Day Six: A Character-Building Experience

Who’s the most interesting person (or people) you’ve met this year?

A character building experience…an interesting person that I have met. Drew a blank initially. I spent a better part of the evening as I went about my chores mulling this topic over in my head.

Shall I write about a recent acquaintance I made?  A young girl, the youngest sibling from amongst five, who grew up in challenging circumstances, managed to work her way up and today is the proud owner of a house of her own. The first to achieve this in two generations of her family. Her parents proudly occupy the home now and are caretakers in her absence.

Or should I write about another strong contender … a recent entrant into my family who has also been a source of much inspiration to me ever since her initiation into our lives over the past year. Her staying unruffled when thrown into entirely new life situations and managing to see the positive in it all, has gone a long way in winning all our hearts.

What about the businessman I had the opportunity to cross paths with. His ruthless attitude aimed at triumph. His complete emotional meltdown once at a possible threat to his child, his fierce protectiveness of his family, his dismissive attitude to those outside his circle of affection, his myopic ambition to ensure his financial success. Truly interesting.

And it was sometime then as I floated in and out from reality to my thoughts on this challenge topic that I suddenly had an aha moment! But ofcourse! An interesting person… character building…..inspiring….who better than my very own special gift from God? My 7yr old!!!

So technically this is not a ‘new person that I have met over the past year’ I agree. However I must admit that this child of mine certainly has made me grow, learn and develop in so many ways ever since she came into our lives.  I am not just referring to the ordinary challenges of parenting, being there for my child, nurturing etc. I am instead talking about how much strength she gives me.

Clichéd as it may seem, the more I think about it the more I am convinced that I have grown tenfold ever since the prestigious role of a Parent was bestowed upon me.

When I decided to take a break from my professional career recently her unabashed happiness wiped away all my doubts and fears.

When I had begun to lose confidence in myself and subconsciously started to withdraw into an angry shell her simple “why are you always frowning?” snapped me out of it.

Her enthusiasm for all colours bright and glittery has made its way in a small way into my personal wardrobe too. (This may not necessarily always translate into a good choice though…) Thereby livening up my entire visual persona.

My desire for her to experience new things has made me bolder and courageous too.

When I write even though most of it is beyond her innocent comprehension she treats my hobby with such deference that I grow in my own esteem.

Today I consciously strive to make more of an effort in all that I do, to remain happy, to dress better, to stay healthy and to be grateful all because I want to be a good role model for her.

So for these reasons and many many more I am going to say that at this point in my life a ‘character building experience’ with ‘the most interesting person I have met’, would have to be parenthood and my girl.

The journey has only just begun.

5 thoughts on “Writing 101, Day Six: A Character-Building Experience

  1. 🙂 Growing children are new people every year if not every month of week, so I believe you picked correctly. And they do have a way of seeing things in the obvious and stating them in the same manner. Very nice.
    Much Respect
    Ronovan

  2. VERY nice writing and perspective! As a mother, I almost ‘forgot’ about those days when the little ones were intrigued about everything and approached life with the greatest of optimism. As a GRANDmother who spends a considerable amount of time with my granddaughters, I can relate! So much fun! 😀

    You have a new follower. I’m looking forward to more.

    (If you have the time, please read my assignment for today: http://putittogether4u.wordpress.com/2014/06/09/my-senses-were-assaulted-day-six-blogging-university/ )

    Best wishes in Writing 101!

    ~ Angela

Leave a Reply

