Writing 101….day 15…Your voice will find you

You’re told that an event that’s dear to your heart — an annual fair, festival, or conference — will be cancelled forever (or taken over by an evil organization). Write about it. For your twist, read your piece aloud, multiple times. Hone that voice of yours!

 

It took me a while to actually get down to writing this post.

Hone that voice you say?  For once I am left speechless.

An event dear to your heart…. once again stumped.

I love all festivities,  I love to celebrate, I love a good party. Which one can I pick in particular that if taken away would seriously affect me?

BIRTHDAYS!! Of course!!!

As a child my enthusiasm and the 12month countdown to my birthday was accepted with good humour and a lot of loving indulgence by my parents.

As a young adult once again my family and friends found it silly but kind of cute my childish enthusiasm for the annual event. I was always excited with anticipation to see what surprises the day would hold in store for me.  Take my friends out for lunch, come home to find special treats, gifts and all the family gathered around invariably a home baked cake.

As a ‘mature’ adult (I refuse to call myself anything else) now my obsession with birthdays could well be called downright ridiculous. Now my annual countdown includes all my family birthdays too. So as you can well imagine I spend a fair bit of my time looking forward to some birthday or the other.

I am often caught up plotting and planning a special theme for my kid’s birthday or a special surprise for my husband

In my enthusiasm to have the day’s celebrations reach my standards of exactness sometimes I will admit that maybe the fun aspect of the day is slightly diminished for all around me in my quest for perfection. I wonder if maybe not everyone shares the same eagerness for their special day as I do.

Does the birthday person actually want what I have planned for them? Would they have rather spent a quiet day at home or doing something else…. perhaps at a spa being pampered? One will never know will we, since I road roller the day entirely. 

Blessed however I am to have the blind love of my family, such that they only seem to appreciate my efforts and go along with all my plans. This could well be attributed in equal parts to their indulgent love for me and for their own sanity too.

There are many who dread a birthday. Another year, growing older etc. Many for whom that this annual event forces them to reflect upon their achievements, life goals and endeavours. Stirring deep emotions and fresh resolutions.

To them I say ……. Honey nothing that a good chunk of cake and a party cannot solve!

 

chickenbirthday

4 thoughts on “Writing 101….day 15…Your voice will find you

Leave a Reply

