Writing 101………….day 19 Day Nineteen: Don’t Stop the Rockin’

Today is a free writing day. Write at least four-hundred words, and once you start typing, don’t stop. No self-editing, no trash-talking, and no second guessing: just go. Bonus points if you tackle an idea you’ve been playing with but think is too silly to post about.

There is no greater agnoy than bearing an untold story inside you….Maya Angelou

Have you an untold story inside you? Words left unspoken? Is the story a family secret, is it your little hidden aspiration, is this something you look back upon and wish you had shared at the time, but maybe now the opportunity for it has long passed?

Is there a story in your life that needs telling? Or a story that would be best left buried. Maybe a story of courage, of love lost, of pain, of courage, of deceit and treachery? Or perhaps a simple story yet in the making, yet to find its path, with chapters yet untold.

Personally I have no such exciting real life stories to share. Been rather a mundane but happy existence so far.

The quote from the great Maya Angelou however got me thinking about ‘The unspoken word’. I have been mulling over this topic since long but had never put thought to paper since was unsure of the subject matter.

Definition of unspoken (adj)

  • not mentioned: not uttered or talked about, although thought about

 

Almost as important in its significance as it’s more popular and heard of twin…the unspoken word. Often I wonder what it would be like if we had the special powers to hear the unspoken word along with the spoken. I’m quite sure that there is a movie along these lines…the name evades me now.

But if we actually could opt for such powers would you? The power to hear what has been left unsaid, almost like a cartoon speech bubble visible only to you. If we had the powers to hear the unspoken word, this could work both ways. Our unspoken word may be heard out loud too by others.

We could well be talking to someone but somewhere within the deep recesses of our mind be thinking “what a bore”. Do you really want the other person hearing this?

How often have you passed a good looking man/ woman on the street and visually checked them out. I know you don’t want your thoughts articulated then.

But then there are situations when I wish my thoughts had formed audible words and left my lips. Not being one for confrontations I usually take the easy way out and either adjust or accept so as to keep the peace. I know that there are many who do similarly. Don’t you wish on some occasions that the words you were actually feeling then had left your mind in loud audible words?

Many times I come away from a situation thinking I could have said this or should have said that. But at that moment in time my courage had failed me. I come away unspoken.

Most broken hearts are caused by unspoken words I read somewhere.

But then there are occasions when courage is – leaving some words unspoken. Leaving some words unsaid. Those words once uttered may do irreparable damage. Physical hurt and damage can always heal or be replaced. However emotional hurt caused by sharp words may never heal. These words once uttered could result in invaluable damage.

Hearts may well be broken by words left unsaid. Hearts however can also be broken by words that should have been left unsaid.

Then there are situations when some thoughts absolutely must be unburdened. Left unsaid they fester and grow putrid spreading their poison amongst all your thoughts and reach out into all aspects of your personality. It may be cathartic then to share those thoughts if not with the person they were intended for but at least with a friendly sympathetic ear. An intense cleansing of the soul of sorts.

Coming back to my hypothetical…..Would I personally want to have the powers to hear the unspoken word. I am going to have to give that a pass for now. I’d rather not have my unspoken word heard and rather not hear what others don’t intend for me to either.

I am unsure if my thoughts today as put on paper have been coherent or comprehensible to you. But the challenge today did state no editing no second guessing. I am going with the flow of thought as of now.

What is your take on this topic I would love to know? Share them with me telepathically or otherwise….. 🙂

Leave a Reply

