LOOPY LEXICONS

There are words…. funny in pronunciation, complex in spelling at times, but so perfect in its meaning. If used appropriately apt in its significance and perfectly descriptive of the emotion on hand when used in context.

Then there are phrases too…a collection of choice words that perfectly convey what you want to say in a clever and sometimes very witty manner.

I thought to enlist a few such words and phrases, those that once I discovered their existence, have been etched in my memory. I strive to utilize these gems when I can, I include them in conversation offhandedly (pretence) when seeking to impress all those around with my witty word wisdom (notice how I alliterate?).

Cockamamie – ridiculous or pointless. I enjoy using this word. Usually to convey suitably how stupid I think something is.

Collywobbles – ohh me likey this one. A personal favourite. I have the collywobbles….excellent excuse to give the boss. Usually infuses sufficient confusion and before they can ask you what are the collywobbles cough a bit, sniff a bit, groan a bit, if visual aid required clutch your stomach and make a hasty exit.  

Diphthong – When vowels come together, they may either be two distinct syllables, or may merge into one syllable. When they merge, they form what are known as diphthongs. If they stay separate they are simply two monophthongs.

I mean I love everything about that definition. Need to find a suitable opportunity to introduce that one into my conversation at some point.

Gobbledygook – used to describe jargon that is meaningless, unintelligible, rubbish, gibberish, claptrap (another nice word)…..I plead guilty to all of the above on several occasions!

Kumquat – Absolutely adore them darling…need me my daily dose of Kumquats. Packed with antioxidants, vitamin c levels to be replenished with nothing but Kumquats for me…… ok not really just like saying the word. Fruit not exactly easily available in my part of the world but makes me feel very upper crust to claim daily consumption!

Obsequious – Fabulous word. Mild tongue twister, need spell check nearly always with this word. Can be used in an adjective, adverb or noun form.  Meaning obedient, fawning, servile, compliant in nature. I don’t like unnecessarily obsequious people.

Stymied – Obstruction or obstacle. Example….I have dreams to be an award winning author, my chances however are grossly stymied by the fact that my creative juices are yet to reach their potential.

Smörgåsbord. – Originally a Swedish word indicating a large buffet of food consisting of many dishes. My utilization of this word……I have a smorgasbord of tasks to complete today. Very satisfactory word on the tongue don’t you think?

Ubiquitous – constantly everywhere at the same time…..sadly I know some people like that. Impossible to shrug them off at times.

Ugsomeness – horrid; loathsome. Synonyms may be used but the verbal satisfaction of saying oh the ugghhsommness of it all….. try it, very satisfying.

Tinkle Pantry – A place to answer natures call….notice how I used a euphemism for a euphemism?

Pushing up the daisies – geddit??? A pretty euphemism for an otherwise very sordid or sad occurrence.  

STAT – more of a medical jargon…..introduced into my vocabulary by endless episodes of ER (George Clooney…sigh)

Boil the Ocean…..try to achieve the impossible. Its excellent, three words which perfectly sum up an impossible situation. Boil an ocean…go ahead try it…impossible no?

Many a slip between the cup and the lip…..even when you feel sure of your intentions or outcome of a certain situation, anything can happen. The unexpected can happen, Murphy may strike….the outcome may be altered drastically for reasons beyond your control. My Mom loves this one.

Nothing ventured nothing gained – now this is one of my mantras. Say this to myself often, just to get me going, to try, to proceed when in doubt or when being held back by fear of the unknown.

OK, here’s the thing … – a very handy way to start making your point if you’re not sure how to begin the sentence.

I’m flying under the radar – when you want to maintain a low profile or if feeling unwell and want to stay out of everyone’s attention for the day. Nice JAG-ish spin to the ordinary.

I’m Stumped – like if you are trying to figure something out or lost for ideas. Little similar to my situation over the past weeks…. Mind numbed /unable to string together enough sentences to create one interesting post for my blog.

Slicker than a greasy pig – a perfect way to describe someone who manages to escape sticky situations.  The visual images this one conjures up itself is narrative enough.

Not the sharpest tool / Not the brightest bulb / The light’s on but no one’s home / A few fries short of a Happy Meal / A few pecans short of a fruitcake / Knitting with only one needle / All foam no beer / Not the sharpest knife in the drawer.

All mean the same….all evil but funny…..

As popular as dandruff – I really hope I am never described with this one. Seriously..ugsome!

So now you know my secret, I am nothing but a lexicon thief.

What are your most used phrases, what are your tickle words. Share them with me, educate me, widen the ambit of my vocabulary.

6 thoughts on “LOOPY LEXICONS

  1. “Slicker than a greasy pig – a perfect way to describe someone who manages to escape sticky situations. The visual images this one conjures up itself is narrative enough.”

    You got me chuckling!

Leave a Reply

