“Who I am and Why I’m here”

This post has me thinking very hard. How does one answer this question? How do I define myself or rather describe who I am in words.

What can I say about myself. ..

I am –

A woman who until very recently, preferred to remain unobtrusive, preferred anonymity (still do to a small extent), preferred to remain unnoticed.

A woman who loves a good laugh and has fortunately been blessed with strong familial foundations.

Closet addictions – crime based serials, fluffy feel good romance novels, and soulful music.

Achilles heel (s) – Chocolate and children. Not necessarily in that order or importance.

A person who weeps while watching TV and blames it on allergies.

A person who believes strongly in Karma and messages from the Universe.

A woman who does believe that love can conquer all.

Someone who fears and avoids confrontations as much as possible.

Someone who considers “worst case scenarios” much more than necessary.

A woman, who at a ‘certain age’ in her life is trying to tap into her creativity and share it with as many as possible or as many willing to receive.

And this is what brings me to the ingenious world of blogging. I started this blog about a year back. I felt the need to have a change in my life, to pursue a creative outlet. Something I have always considered doing – writing for a very long time but never actually got down to it.

When I began I felt apprehensive and nervous. What if I said something stupid what if I offended someone. Who would want to hear what I have to say. Really I have nothing of intrinsic value to say. This blog is just a collection of my thoughts, topics on my mind, almost my way of having an uninterrupted conversation. Sounds creepy I know. But then as I ventured further into this world I learnt that there seem to be others out there who seem to be happy to meet, happy to share thoughts, happy to read.

Some were known some unknown but all were openly accepting of what I had to say, encouraging and appreciative. Incredulous as it may seem I even gained a few followers.

And so it is I attempt to embark on a blogging 101 challenge, hoping to learn more from my fellow bloggers. Hoping to read and discover more, make some friends and also possibly contribute myself.

I look forward with excited anticipation!

14 thoughts on ““Who I am and Why I’m here”

  1. I wonder how many of us feel exactly as you do with regarding to starting a blog. I so identified with your words, ‘What if I said something stupid what if I offended someone. Who would want to hear what I have to say.’ I have certainly asked those same questions many times! I too am embarking on the blogging 101 challenge but have not yet completed this current challenge. But thanks for your post; it’s nice to know I am not alone.

    • I’m glad! Thank you….good to know I am not alone in my insecurities. Yes Blogging 101 promises to be all good and more. First example sharing a cyber chuckle with a new friend….

  2. Wow…. this really had me thinking.. you see I too use to worry about talking to others because I didn’t want to be ridiculed. I soon learned that once I began opening up I soon would have a circle of people interested in what I had to say or maybe just my way of thinking or saying it. I then learned that it doesn’t matter what you write because there will always be someone willing to listen!!! So open and just be the best you u can be because in the end we all want to know you, the real genuine you! If u want to know me check out my page at http://about.me/ramon_prds
    Feel free to connect with me on Fb twitter etc. I’m trying to surround myself with like minded people!

  3. Hi! Lovely to “meet” you and find out more about you. I’m sure you know this already, but you have a great, very earnest and open writing style. I’m also doing blogging 101… but am stumbling even on the very first hurdles. :S

    • Thank you so much for your kind words. I too struggle. Haven’t been blogging much of late. Felt like I lost my voice. This challenge is just the right catalyst! Great to make your acquaintance too ;-0 Look forward to your posts.

Leave a comment